Paleo Meatballs and Spaghetti- and some more paleo babble

Hey Paleo Kids

hope all is happy and healthy in your kitchens. It is currently the holiday of Chanukah which is super pretty and delicious… lots of lights and latkes 🙂

017

Last night I went over to a friend and we made sweet potato latkes/ levivot …this is a recipe I made up a few days ago. Its a winner… but I’ll post it another day 🙂

I have to share with you my new favourite meatball recipe!

012

For the meatballs:

– ground chicken

–  a ton of fresh oregano

– salt + pepper

For the sauce:

– onions

-fresh tomatoes

– fresh basil

-fresh oregano

– lemon juice

– apple cider vinegar

-bay leaf

– garlic

-half a cup of bone broth

-salt and pepper

Method:

In a pot, fry up chopped onions in coconut oil, add in 3 chopped tomatoes, ACV, bone broth…let it all cook up.

add in the herbs, bay leaf, squeeze over lemon juice and let everything simmer.

In the meantime… add your fresh oregano to the chicken and roll into balls. Add the meatballs to the simmering sauce and let it cook until done. ( cover the pot with a lid)

I love to eat them with zucchini noodles.

This is one of my favourite winter morning breakfasts/ post WOD.. snack.. pretty much anytime kinda meal.

And for dessert… Persimon.

013

Anyways so I wanted to just mention the importance of listening to your body! I LOVE paleo and believe in it 100% but I think that it is important not to follow the rules blindly just because you ‘are paleo’. If you train hard you need to eat more carbs and I don’t think eating white rice every now and then or white potatoes is going to hurt. The whole point of eating paleo is to feel good and do the best you can for your body. I am coming up to my one year paleo anniversary and the last 2 months I have been bending the rules a little… I have been eating a bit of peanut butter here and there, potatoes, rice cakes, peas, the odd full on ‘cheat’- I’m talking chocolate cake and peanut butter sandwhiches… and to be honest I feel better  than I felt going 100% strict. And I am doing well in my workouts and my skin looks good ( thats a whole other story). So I don’t think it is necessary to go 100% ALL the time. I think Gluten and dairy are not good for us and it is best to keep that out your diet as much as possible- but the rest? I think being RELAXED and CHILLED OUT about your diet will do so many more wonders for your health so much more than being stressed and obsessed with 100% strict paleo.

Feel free to agree/ disagree.. add your two cents 🙂

I love to hear other people’s opinions.

Happy eating and Happy Chanukah!

Amy

6 thoughts on “Paleo Meatballs and Spaghetti- and some more paleo babble

  1. I felt best when I was strict, but including some starches like sweetpotatoes and the occasional dessert (replacing flour and white sugar with almond meal and honey or even a tsp of raw cane sugar) on birthdays and holidays. But I know what you mean and being stressed out over food can make you sick no matter how good your diet is.

  2. Stressing out over food is almost as bad as eating poorly to begin with. Keep staying positive–and enjoy that peanut butter! Btw, I’m extremely jealous–I haven’t had the opportunity to make latkes yet & I’m dying to get the chance to eat some! It’s been FAR too long…

  3. I want to say that is one big persimmon!! I am so fascinated with the paleo diet but I do find that some people are very strict. I also never know what vegetable I can or can’t eat, but I have did low carb challenges that have been easy. I think I am going to give paleo a try for about a week or two.. Reading your post help me to see that it does not always half to be so strict you can bend the rules a little bit…

    • oh my gosh it was a HUGE persimmon!!! it was some sort of special kind, more oval than a regular one. I think if you try paleo give it a month..go strict and then see from there. its definitely ok to bend the rules to suit your lifestyle. the whole of paleo is to ENRICH your life… not make it more difficult! good luck xxx

Leave a Reply

