Crockpot Meatballs and some Paleo Wisdom.

Hey Paleo kids!

I am always experimenting with my diet to see what works and what doesn’t. My latest experimentation that I feel is really working is having no nuts in my diet. At one point I used to rely on them so much for snacks. Since cutting them out I feel a whole lot better. I’m not crazy strict… if  I feel like nuts I’ll have some, if I am out and they are there I’ll eat some.. But I don’t go out of my way to buy them and there isnt a permanent stock  in my house like there used to be. For the last couple of months I have been avoiding nightshades ( tomatoes, eggplants, potatoes, peppers) just to see if it makes any difference. To be honest I don’t know if it really made me feel any better. But then again I never gave it 100% chance because I kept eating tomatoes and peppers in salads when I went out or when I got meatball cravings and nothing but tomato sauce would do.

These meatballs are THE BOMB. The recipe is coming…

But first a little Paleo Wisdom.. or babbling. Whatever you wanna call it.

So the past week I have eaten chocolate cake and two peanut butter sandwiches. And some chocolate chip cookies.

Non-Paleo.

Obviously.

So this came about after a conversation with a friend whose opinion I really respect.. he is a great athlete and has a ridiculous amount of knowledge. And is the anti-paleo. One of the things he was concerned about is how eating paleo can bring about eating disorders.  I both agree and disagree… I think ANY kind of ‘diet’ or lifestyle change can bring about eating obsessions, not specifically paleo. When I read the first paragraph of this post – I cut out nuts, I don’t eat certain vegetables… ye that sounds like a crazy obsession right?

There really is a very fine line between health eating and obsessive healthy eating ( orthorexia). I truly believe the problem is when your diet starts to rule your life and makes you stress out about it ALL the time.

I really believe in paleo and think I go about it in a sensible non-obsessive way. But if you’re obsessed… you don’t think you are right? I used to be CRAAZZYYY obsessed with eating healthy and I was 100% convinced I was healthy and on the right path. So how am I different now?

I know I am different now because I have no problem eating out at other people’s houses, restaurants, going away for the weekend etc… But I wanted to make sure.

I wanted to see if eating a peanut butter sandwich and then some chocolate cake would freak me out/ scare me/ make me feel guilty

Verdict: No guilt. No fear. No stress. Totally delicious ( not so much the overly sweet chocolate cake… but PB sandwich HELL YES)

Did I wake up the next morning feeling puffy and exhausted and ‘off’… yep. Gluten will do that. Did my heart race like crazy from the sugar… yes.

Am I obsessed? Nope. I just know what works for me.

I really encourage anyone eating paleo/ clean/ healthy.. whatever.. to make sure you are doing it along with a healthy mental attitude. Don’t fall into a health eating obsession… because mental health is AS IMPORTANT as physical health.

 

For the sauce:

3 chopped tomatoes

1 chopped onion

1 cup bone broth

2 garlic cloves

1 cup water

salt + pepper

Fresh oregano

2 bay leaves

1 grated carrot

For the Meatballs:

500g ground meat

chopped sage

salt + pepper

Putting it all together:

Get all your ingredients for the sauce going in the crockpot. Once everything has started cooking add your meatballs to the pot and let it got overnight!

 

Enjoy!!!

Amy

 

 

4 thoughts on “Crockpot Meatballs and some Paleo Wisdom.

  1. Amen to that. Seriously, I think the most important thing that Paleo has taught me is the difference between physical/mental health and obsession. It was so easy for me to be orthorexic (under the guise of making myself optimally healthy) because, in the back of my head, my strictness was related to a physical/aesthetic goal.

    And, yeah, I have NO desire to eat a piece of bread, but I went to a dinner party and didn’t freak out because there were corn chips in the soup. I ate around them and moved on. And the soup was really delicious.

    A+ for an awesome attitude. I can only hope that more people can start dissociating themselves from the guilt and shame and craziness and just start enjoying life–and food–a little more.

Leave a Reply

