Paleo Mint Slice

So yesterday it rained!! And today my dog and I got caught in a downpour. And there was crazy thunder. Its not even winter yet… wtf?! And the most ridiculous part of it all is that last night was the first night of Succot-  a Jewish holiday where you build a little hut and you’re meant to eat all your meals in it. And sleep in it. I think God was keeping himself amused making it rain and all.

Anyway… onto cake

Mint and chocolate is just a match made in heaven.

Pure heaven. This cake is so good I made it TWICE. In the space of two days.

My roommate and I managed to polish off an entire cake in one day. And then I decided to make it again. Real Smart.

And as a result of that I am doing a whole30 challenge… 🙂

I eat 100% strict paleo anyway.. with the very odd paleo dessert here and there but for some reason I’ve been on a baking kick lately. I really have no problem with paleo desserts at all! But the last three weeks have been a bit overboard what with Rosh Hashana, Yom Kippur… Succot and birthdays and then once you make one cake you might as well make another…and so on. The truth is when you eat really clean and suddenly you overload your body with sugar ( even if its from dates and honey- sugar is sugar) its not good!

So a group of people decided to do a paleo challenge and I thought I might as well join in… for me its more of a no baking challenge though 🙂

So in the meantime.. here is the recipe..knock yourselves out 🙂

For the base:

in the first cake I did:

1 cup of coconut flour

2 eggs

1/8 cup coconut oil

vanilla

baking powder

1/8 cup of honey

1/2 cup cocoa powder

The second time around I did:

1 egg

1/2 cup coconut flour and everything else was the same.  I think I preferred the second cake base!

I cooked it for 180 degrees for about ten minutes

For the Mint Cream:

A cup of coconut milk ( the thick creamy part) blended with 4 medjool dates

add a drop of peppermint essence

( i added in teeeny tiny drops and tasted as I went to make sure I got the right flavour)

For the chocolate ganache layer:

Melt 100% pure cocoa with coconut milk ( the creamy part)

and if you aren;t a fan of SUCH bitter chocolate you can add in a little honey to the mixture.

Assemble your cake:

-Pour the mint cream layer on top of the cake and put it in the freezer to firm up

– Pour the chocolate ganache over the whole thing and again put it in the freezer to firm up

Try go slow…

Enjoy!

 

3 thoughts on “Paleo Mint Slice

  1. Pingback: Mint Cream filled Chocolate Cupcakes | lovepaleolife

Leave a Reply

